Cats are best building buddies!

unnamed

Following a very exciting trip to IKEA this weekend (you can’t NOT love IKEA!) we had some building to do and obviously Brucy was there to help! I think the absolute best part of IKEA is that it is fun for everyone – especially cats and they get SO much cardboard and boxes to play in after!

Sadly, Brucy’s asthma seems to be getting worse and she often wakes up coughing – the poor thing.. The vet suggested giving her a shot with a high level of steroids, but I think it might be a bit too much for her liver at her young age.. What’s your opinion? Have you given your cat medications at an early age?

3 comments

  1. Poor Brucy…I would explore all options and see what is best..Forrest is a doggie of course and is on meds for anxiety issue bought on by several incidents..we had to weigh up the eefect on his body and his quality of life.he is 11 this year very healthy we get his bloods checked regularly to see how the meds are affecting him and so far all thumbs up! he is a settled and happier boy…he is not drugged up at all just no more pacing vomiting at 3am etc..we decided his quality of life was more important..no point in a miserable long life better a happier more engaged life and so far with constant testing and a great diet and exercise we seem to be winning.Hugs to Brucy🙂 xxx

  2. I have had an auto immune disease since age 3 that almost took my life then, but I persevered and made it through. The doctors told my human I wouldn’t make it past 6 or 7 with all my health issues, but this past July I turned 13! My Mom says I am a miracle, but I just think I am a tough tortie ladycat who doesn’t like to be told what to do, only do what I choose!
    I have had asthma since age 4 which like Brucy has gotten worse over the years. I underwent steroid shots for many years to treat my asthma and stomatitis. There are long term side effects that we can become susceptible to like hyperthyroidism and diabetes. My Mom and vet had to make the hard decision which was worse, the possibility of side effects or comfort, quality of life- they decided for me that my pain and symptoms far outweighed the risks of the shots, so the shots were given and I have been lucky to never develop hyperthyroidism or diabetes. This is a personal choice for each cat and their human and vet, as our symptoms and severity are all different.
    The past two years my vet switched me to an oral medication pill called Terbutaline. That helped me until this fall when my coughing increased and now I am on the inhaler Flovent. My human administers it to me with a thing called an AeroKat, 2 puffs twice a day. It has helped a lot, even though it’s not my favorite!
    A site that really helped my human is: http://www.fritzthebrave.com
    There are lots of resources and videos showing how to administer an inhaler to a cat using an AeroKat. I hope mew can work with mewz vet to come up with a treatment for Brucy that mew feel is best for her at this time. Please give her my best and tell her there are lots of kitties who have asthma. If mew are on Facebook my human is part of a support/informational group that is for parents of cats with asthma. She would be happy to share the info with mew if interested- just email me. MsPhoebecat@gmail.com

    1. Thank you so much for sharing this – you are truly a miracle! I havennt heard about this website and it looks really helpful! That is exactly what our vet has told us – that she resists giving Brucy shots because of the side effects, so at the moment we are just doing oral med. pills (that make brucy eat SO much).. I will have a look at the website to what frequency exactly is considered “severe”, because at the moment Brucy coughs a few times a month (so I’m guessing it is not that bad), but she is only 2 y.o.
      Thank you so much for sharing this, it is so nice to know that there are brave kittens like you who stay strong through this!!
      xoxoxoxox

Tell us what you think!

